Answered By: Arnetta Henderson
Last Updated: May 13, 2015     Views: 36

Back up the iPod before restoring it! This deletes all of the content on the iPod. Connect your iPod to your Computer and open the iTunes program.

Turn on your iDevice. Now hold down the Sleep/On/Off button and the Home Button at the same time for about 30 seconds. Skip the Turn Off Menu when it appears. Continue holding down the buttons. If done correctly, your iDevice has turned off and then 1-3 seconds later, the Apple logo will come up, continue holding down the Power and Home Buttons. In approximately 20-30 seconds after it shows the Apple logo, it will display a "Connect to iTunes" image. Now iTunes will show on the iPod and say: "iTunes has detected a iDevice in recovery mode. Please restore it before using it with iTunes." If you did not connect the iDevice to iTunes before you continued with the steps then this will not work. Also, iTunes doesn't distinguish an iPhone with an iPod in this message. Restoring the iDevice means to delete everything that is saved to the device. Including the password. It deletes everything because the passcode is designed to protect the owner's privacy. Thus, deleting everything is the only way to reset it. After the download is complete, iTunes will automatically install it to your iDevice. Sync your iDevice (Or use the backup if you did back it up) to iTunes and you should be back to normal. No password necessary!

Answers by Topic

Your Questions Answered

Your Questions Answered!

Get more on:

Find more answers on:

Ask COM Library!

More Ways to Ask